Grant Deadlines

We have two grant cycles per year, Spring (June decisions) and Fall (November decisions).

A one-page letter of inquiry must be submitted and accepted before any grant proposal is reviewed.

The letters of inquiry phase for the spring 2015 cycle is CLOSED.

The deadline for letters of inquiry for the fall 2015 cycle is May 1, 2015.



Mental Health

As a pathfinder in mental health issues, we are devoted to creating transformational impact on programs and people in Northeast Ohio. We are committed to consulting with world-class experts to foster and invest in programs designed to integrate best practices in mental health.

Program Focus

 Summary Elements



  • New/Variety of Methods
  • Integrated Systems
  • Resource Efficiency
  • Self-Determination

We encourage creative solutions and new ideas promoting evidence based practice, high levels of recovery, and collaborative enhancement of mental health practices. Programs will result in holistic, integrated and cost effective solutions to system challenges.


  • Long-Term Supports
  • Quality of Life
  • Empowerment
  • Living with Mental Illness

We support programs that enhance quality of life and result in long term, consumer driven supports for employment, education, housing, medical care, socialization, and transportation.


  • Stabilization
  • Recovering Function
  • Back on Track

We support projects that provide re-engagement, stabilization, resiliency, and learning strategies to improve function and help consumers become more self sufficient, reducing long term dependency on systems.


  • Crisis Response
  • Health and Safety
  • Access to Care
  • Emergency Assistance

We support programs minimizing involvement in the criminal justice system, providing health/safety, food/clothing, housing, reducing loss of hope during mental illness onset/crisis.


  • Prevention
  • Education
  • Knowledge Institutes
  • Mental Health Workforce

We support initiatives that deepen mental health knowledge, increase public understanding, build an effective mental health workforce, promote prevention activities and offer welcoming and respectful environments.

The Foundation accepts grant applications from these 18 Northeast Ohio counties: Ashland, Ashtabula, Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Holmes, Jefferson, Lake, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas and Wayne.